Bo Vine (West End, Glasgow) Restaurant : Review


IMG_6929

Location

385 Byres Road
Glasgow
G12 8AU

Website

www.bovinerestaurant.com

Visit Date : Sunday 16th April 2017

I have passed Bo Vine many times when I have been at the West End, and also had a few chats to them via Twitter. When I passed and saw the Easter Sunday Market Menu offer, I went in and booked a table.

IMG_6931

Cost : 2 Courses (£14.95) or 3 courses (£18.95)

Starter :

Smoked Salmon, Crab, Horseradish, Beetroot and Crouton

IMG_6937

This looked visually nice when it arrived, and for me the portion size looked a good one for a starter.

Flavours were all very nice, everything blended nicely with each other. The fish flavour was not too fishy, which I know some people don’t like when ordering a fish dish but for me it was a nice balanced flavour.

Portion Size : 4
Flavour : 4
Presentation : 4

Main Course :

Spinach Ricotta Ravioli, Truffle Cream, Vegetarian Hard Cheese

IMG_6939

When I ordered this I was told that they only had so much ravioli left, so we were offered Gnocchi instead which was fine with me.

On Arrived my first thought was the portion size, maybe a little too small but pasta is filling so I thought lets wait and see how it is.

I tried some of my girlfriends she did get the Ravioli, and to be really honest the Gnocchi was 100% better in taste.

Yes there could have been more as I still was a little hungry, but overall this was really nice and I enjoyed it.

Portion Size : 3.5
Flavour : 5
Presentation : 4

Dessert

Coffee Creme Brûlée

IMG_6943

I love Creme Brûlée so this was a must to order.

I laughed a little at the presentation mostly because it was a very large plate, then over to one tiny corner….granted I have seen this done elsewhere but today I laughed.

Anyway on to the taste….

This was very nice, I could have easily had two and the small cookies were nice.

Overall this was a nice dessert, and one I would have again.

Portion Size : 4
Flavour : 5
Presentation : 3.5

Overall

Overall my first visit here was just ok, part of me was a little disappointed with the portion sizes but then again it could have just been due to the market menu which in most places are normally that little bit smaller.

Taste, service and atmosphere were all very good and I look forward to trying some more dishes off the menu on my next visit.

  • Child Friendly : Yes (only if they are well behaved)
  • Cash/Credit Card : Both
  • Service : 4
  • The portion sizes & taste : 3
  • Atmosphere : 5
  • Value for money : 4
  • Overall : 4
Leave a Reply

